Four-eyes

12 May

Glasses are like pencil skirts: it’s all about finding the right fit. I got my first pair of glasses in fifth grade and my first contacts just two years later. I had a hard time finding glasses back then because my facial features were so petite. Nowadays, I only wear my glasses once every few weeks to give my contacts a break. You guys probably know that staring at a computer is hard work!

Since glasses have seen a recent surge in popularity, there are many more great options at a variety of price points to choose from. Just last month I used a Groupon to score a new pair for $75 from SEE Eyewear in Cherry Creek. (Even without the Groupon, my fashion-forward frames and lenses would have cost less than $300. What a deal!)

Here are a few guidelines about fit that I’ve learned over the years:

  • To ensure that they’re office pretty, it’s important that the lenses aren’t too big. (Oversized lenses are a popular style among the hipsters these days. See exhibit a.)
  • The glasses should fit on your face in such a way that your eyes are in the center of the lenses. This means that the size of the lens has to be appropriate for your face shape. Sometimes I think this is the trickiest part of buying glasses.
  • Your glasses should rest securely on the bridge of your nose–but they should never pinch it or create a pressure point there. (This dude’s glasses seem to sit just right.)
  • The temples (the “arms” that come off of the lenses and hook over your ears) also need to be the right length for the side of your head. Otherwise your glasses will slip forward on the nose, be pulled uncomfortably close to your face, or irritate the skin behind your ears. Yuckey.
  • Finally, you should get your glasses adjusted regularly to ensure that they always fit properly and comfortably.

Looking for more ideas and inspiration? Check out my Pintrest board all about glasses. And how cute is Laure G. (photo above) in her Trina Turk eye glasses? It’s a perfect fit.

4 Responses to “Four-eyes”

  1. Pamula Maertz May 15, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    Hi, I ran into this page from mixx. It is not blog post I would regularly read, but I loved your perspective on it. Thank you for making a piece worth reading!

  2. Anne Marie May 18, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    Thanks for such a helpful piece, Jill. After reading it and browsing the sweet Pintrist page, I went ahead and splurged on new designer frames. I followed your advice about finding a good fit. And I am incredibly happy with my new, bold frames!

    I think another really helpful piece of advice here is that there ARE glasses that look good on every face type. Just hang in there, take a good friend along, try on a ton of pairs and make note of which shapes work for you and which don’t. It’s totally worth it to find glasses that make you feel fabulous.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to pull off nerd chic « Office Pretty - November 18, 2011

    […] blogged about finding the perfect pair of spectacles. And we’ve written about cardigans. But today we’re taking the nerd within to a whole […]

  2. Our Favorite 2011 Posts « Office Pretty - January 3, 2012

    […] Four eyes […]

Leave a Reply

