Flats: all shapes and sizes

1 Jun

I think we’re all looking for a little comfort to go with our style this summer. I love wearing flats on days that I know I’ll be on my feet at an event or when I’m riding my bike to work or walking to lunch or happy hour.

The rising popularity of flats has led to fresh styles at a huge range in price. (The flats pictured below are priced from $12.99 to $425 – how’s that for range?) Throughout my shopping adventures this spring, I’ve noticed a few stylish trends for spring and summer flats – two-toned flats, blush flats and even more jeweled flats.

Two-toned flats are stylish and professional and are appearing everywhere this summer (plus, they will last into the fall). The Marc Jacobs flats below just scream Audrey Hepburn (and Chanel) to me and it doesn’t get more classic than that. The two-toned flats below add a little interest to a monotone look like this or this. I also think they would look amazing with these.

(Flats clockwise from top left)

I love neutral flats during the warmer months. Wearing blush or nude shoes elongates your legs – even when they’re flats – so, I think they work well with a colorful skirt like this or a dress like this.

(Flats clockwise from top left)

I also just love all the feminine detail that’s been popping up on flats for the past year or so. Jeweled flats are an easy way to dress up a simple blazer like this or flowing cropped slacks like these.

(Flats clockwise from top left)

For more flats, check out my Office Pretty flats Pinterest board. What shoes are you wearing this summer?

2 Responses to “Flats: all shapes and sizes”

  1. Anne Marie June 2, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    I love these flats so much I bought two pairs: one in black and one in silver! http://store.rocketdog.com/ae/restofworld/flats/memories-glowing-satin/invt/memoriesgs/ I have slim, very long feet. Some flats accentuate the length and make my feet look huge. But the soft gathered fabric here plays a trick on the eyes and (in my humble opinion) makes my feet look great. 🙂

    • Admin June 2, 2011 at 9:52 am #

      Thanks for sharing Anne Marie! I just love the little bow on the toe – feminine – and comfortable!

Leave a Reply

