Guest post: My Summer Wish List

1 Aug

Happy Monday office pretties! I (Jill) am excited to introduce you to Office Pretty’s latest fabulous guest blogger, Katie of No More Dixie. Katie and I have been friends since I moved to Denver. I spotted her immediately when I was visiting a new church because of her fabulous indie style. Since then, we’ve bonded over our working experiences in the nonprofit world. I know you’ll just soak up the laid-back, but office-appropriate, summer vibe she so perfectly portrays in this post.

I am, as they say, currently in between jobs, which means I spend a lot of time on the internet. If you’re like me, you understand that time spent job-searching often leads to occasional online shopping breaks. Every girl needs a few items to spruce up her summer and inspire new officewear! So, without further adieu, I present My Summer Wish List (inspired by my desire to lighten up a bit but still look put together at the office).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Madewell’s Striped Terry Cardigan: so light, easy to layer, and perfect with dark denim on Friday or cropped skinny pants and wedges.
  • Speaking of Madewell, I am hoping this pair of wedges miraculously appears on my doorstep.  Wedges are generally office-appropriate and work well with most everything, especially my next item.
  • Level 99 Tradewinds Trousers (available at Anthropologie). With wedges, a dressy tank and a cardigan, you can easily transition from office to East Coast yachting vacation. Or, you know, just your normal land-locked weekend.
  • EmersonMade’s Pocket Skirt in red twill: Summer calls for the infusion of some color to the office wardrobe.  For work, pair this with a simple white shirt or with a more tailored blazer to balance out the volume of the pleats.
  • I wasn’t joking about color. How lovely is this blazer from Zara? Clean lines, dressy, and yet very simple. Use this blazer as a more tailored alternative to the open drape cardigan.

More fantastic summer wish list finds from Katie — all under $50! — after the jump.

Thank you for dreaming along with me! And now back to reality…  Here are more summer items all under $50.

Happy summer shopping season!

– Katie, No More Dixie

3 Responses to “Guest post: My Summer Wish List”

  1. Megan August 1, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    I now have a summer wishlist;) No more maternity clothes!! I also wish we had a Madewell store in Colorado. Great post!

  2. Alice Hamilton August 1, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    I really like “No more Dixie’s” wish list! She does have a
    great fashion eye and a sense of responsible spending as
    well. Thanks for guesting on Office Pretty!

  3. Kara August 1, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    Great stuff! I’d never heard of Madewell! Thanks for suggesting another place to spend my money 🙂

Leave a Reply

