Trend Alert: Zippers

3 Aug

On Monday I was forced to admit to myself that the bold zipper–formerly on my hate listhas won me over. For a long time I resisted the zipper — so cold, so masculine and so unprofessional (the ultimate OP sin!) But over time, designers have incorporated zipper accessories into feminine tops and dresses. And they have won me over.

Here are a few pieces that Laura and I recently purchased that bring out zippers in all their awesomeness.

Caslon Zip Back Sweater at Nordstrom ($69, available in petites)

Mossimo Pleated Zip Back Dress at Target ($24.99)

Classiques Entier Moto Jacket at Nordstrom ($248)

What makes zippers work on these pieces? I think it’s the simple lines and material of the piece that make the zipper THE detail (as opposed to one of many, many details). In my opinion that keeps it from being too much for the office.

What say you? Do you have any Office Pretty pieces with zippers? Tell us below!

6 Responses to “Trend Alert: Zippers”

  1. Beth August 3, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Oh good!! I love my blouse with a wide zipper down the back.

  2. Sabrina D'Agosta August 3, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    As a former punkrocker (who made my own zippered bondage pants to boot), I have to admit that I love love love anything with zippers. Leave it to you ladies to take it to a whole new state of fashion. I’d totally wear the items pictured. Somehow, I don’t think my knee-high zippered chucks would make the OP cut, but I’m heartened to hear that I can work the zipper into my work attire and still be shiek.

  3. Charlotte August 3, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    I recently bought this Lundin Links Sweater from Anthropologie on sale (yay!):

    http://www.anthropologie.com/anthro/catalog/productdetail.jsp?id=19984772&catId=SHOPSALE-SWEATERS&pushId=SHOPSALE-SWEATERS&popId=SHOPSALE&navCount=42&color=060&isProduct=true&fromCategoryPage=true&templateType=D

    It has a cute zipper detail on the back.

    • Admin August 5, 2011 at 11:40 am #

      LOVE this Charlotte. We tweeted this so others could see too.

  4. Katie August 5, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    I just bought a dress from Nordstrom for a formal wedding this weekend – and it has an exposed zipper down the entire back! I am coming around to this trend…while I was buying it, I eyed a short-sleeve version of that Caslon back-zip sweater. Love it.

    • Admin August 5, 2011 at 11:40 am #

      Three cheers for the exposed zipper down the back! I wore a formal dress with a zipper *down the front* two weekends ago; unfortunately, it doesn’t qualify as “office pretty.” 😉 – Jill

Leave a Reply

