Sucked in by J.Crew… again. Top 3 must-haves

25 Aug

The new J.Crew catalog arrived yesterday. Typically, that’s not worth noting because they send me about one a week. But the cover was–oh!– irresistible: ballerinas of all different ages wearing tutus and cashmere. If I didn’t know any better, I’d think that they hand selected that cover for me (the former ballerina and seasonal cashmere addict).
Photobucket

As I flipped through its colorful pages, I liked a lot of things, but I loved three things in particular…

1. The tissue turtleneck. I’ve shared openly about the “I-only-wear-black-turtlenecks-and-jeans” phase in college, and this is where it all started. These turtlenecks are perfectly versatile and modern (which means there’s no way to confuse these with the version I wore in 1992). Since they’re tissue thin, you can wear them as soon as the weather turns a little cool and then use them as layering pieces when the colder months hit.  And, they come in a range of fun colors and with a great price tag ($29.50).

2.The schoolboy blazer. This is the first thing I saw when I opened the catalog. It’s nipped-in waist and nod to academia are two details I just can’t resist. I’ll wear it to work with cropped pants as we transition into winter. (And I’ll wear it on the weekends too, with a t-shirt and rolled up boyfriend jeans.)

3. The skinny calf hair belt. We don’t like the skinny belt — we love the skinny belt. I borrowed a similar belt from LG a few weeks ago during our OP photo shoot (you’ll get a sneak peak soon), and since then, I’ve thought of so many new outfits I could build with this skinny addition. It’s a fantastic accessory for the LBD or jeans on a casual Friday.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Did you get the catalog? Tell us what caught your eye in the comments.

One Response to “Sucked in by J.Crew… again. Top 3 must-haves”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fasting for the Fun of It « Office Pretty - August 26, 2011

    […] you eat (or what you don’t eat). But we do have a confession: we felt convicted after our all-J.Crew post because anyone who buys everything from J.Crew can look good and where’s the fashion […]

Leave a Reply

