Fasting for the Fun of It

26 Aug

FAST [fahst], v.  To abstain from or limit something; n. a day or period of fasting

This is not a post about religious observance or what you eat (or what you don’t eat). But we do have a confession: we felt convicted after our all-J.Crew post because anyone who buys everything from J.Crew can look good and where’s the fashion challenge in that? To prove to you that we’re not cheaters and are perfectly capable of mixing and matching all our favorite brands, we’re fasting from J.Crew all next week.

Here are the rules:

  1. We can’t mention J.Crew (the brand or its products) in our posts.
  2. More importantly: We can’t wear anything from J.Crew. Not even a skinny belt!
  3. The fasts begins at 8 am on Monday, Aug. 29, and wraps up at 5 pm on Friday, Sept. 2.

But wait — there’s more! We want you to join us by designing your own fashion fast. Do you overuse a particular article of clothing or accessory? Go without it for the week. Are you a brand whore? Challenge yourself to not wear anything by that designer.

What’s the point of all this? You’ll force yourself to be more creative with what you already have and (hopefully) discover a few new, fabulous outfits. Comment below if you’re in and check back next week to share how it’s going.

3 Responses to “Fasting for the Fun of It”

  1. Courtney August 26, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    Good idea! I think l’ll abstain from all the clothes I currently have. Looks like I’m going to need to go shopping this weekend so I can fulfill the challenge! 🙂

  2. Alex August 29, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    I am going to take a “fast” from little sweater cover-ups/cardigans. In a couple weeks I will report which “fast” is more difficult, this clothes fast or the one day food fast (my money is on the clothes fast!)…

  3. mista September 2, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    HI Ladies, I am happy to say that your post inspired me to fast and to not wear a cardigan this week! I am happy to report that so far so good! Although, I found a few items in the back of my closet to wear in place of the cardigan I realized that I wear a cardigan almost every day! What happened? Is a clothing fast like a food fast? Do I have to fast from wearing a cardigan for 30 days to break the habit? If so what are some good alternatives?

Leave a Reply

