Lands’ Beginning: Top 5 Things You Would Never Guess are from Lands’ End

10 Oct

When I got home from work on Friday, I found a Lands’ End catalog in the mailbox. I flipped through a few pages and was pleasantly surprised by the great fitting clothes and updated styles I found inside.

Lands’ End is one of those brands that, unfortunately, I remember most from 1992 when I wore their indestructible cotton turtlenecks and leggings every day. And I know I’ve accused them of perpetuating the Mom Butt Jeans epidemic at some point in the past, so how about I make up for it now, eh?

Here are the top five Office Pretty finds from Lands’ End’s fall catalog:

1. A pencil skirt with a modern shape and close fit. Check out the Ponté Pencil Skirt for $69.50 (also in petite and plus sizes!)

2. Wingtip ballet flats in on-trend colors. (Pictured above.) I love the rich tones and textures of the Emma Tailored Ballet Shoes, on sale for $35

3. A cozy wrap sweater that’s sophisticated enough to keep at your desk during the cooler days. See what you think of the Fine Gauge Supima Wrap Cardigan Sweater, $59.50

4. A shapely, textured blazer with equestrian flair. I like the Riding Blazer, $129.50, especially because it comes in petite and plus sizes and is about $50 cheaper than that one brand we’re addicted to.

5. You can never have enough white oxfords. Lands End offers a surprising array of white oxford button-downs (one of our Staple items!), from $16.99 to $49.50, in expanded sizes and options, like sleeve length.

What are you waiting for? Hop on over there and see if we missed anything great for fall.

4 Responses to “Lands’ Beginning: Top 5 Things You Would Never Guess are from Lands’ End”

  1. Cody October 10, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    Thanks for this post, Jill. About two years ago I accompanied my husband to Sears to pick up some Craftsman tools and found a Lands End shop there. I was very pleasantly surprised by what I found. I never thought I’d shop for clothes at Sears, but I have got to say that I’ve been very happy with my Lands End clothes from Sears – they’re classic styles, well made and a very good value for the cost – who would have thought it!

  2. Alice October 10, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    I love the women’s regular 2-button cotton chino blazer too! LE has really listened to their customer’s wants and desires, some of whom probably used to be wearers of “Mom jeans.” Just guessin’
    I’m feeling very fashion aware since I discovered the new LE looks before reading them in your post. That was a first!

  3. Illana October 13, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    Your line about those Lands’ End turtlenecks made me laugh out loud. Somewhere in my parents’ house is a picture of all five of their children (myself included) wearing matching striped polos while on vacation. But I’m going to give them another look after seeing those shoes!

  4. Marcia May October 14, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    No kidding! I was just thinking about this on the way to work. I wore the worst Land’s End navy pants for children’s choir for years and years, but today I am wearing this hand me down Land’s End purple cardigan that I have to keep track of how many times I wear in a week so as not to wear it out. I want to find out what happened over there.

Leave a Reply

