Get Shorty

17 Oct

I recently spent some serious time trying to find shoes that were (a) extremely comfortable (b) extremely warm and (c) cute. Turns out, this is easier said than done. But, after a day in my trusty local mall, I found the solution — short boots that rise anywhere from just above the ankle to the mid-calf. I initially thought that I was no where near hip enough to wear short boots. But, now that I’ve walked several miles in said short boots, I’m excited to share that I’m sold. I love the shorty boot.

Why do I love them? First of all, they are so much easier to get on and off than traditional boots that zip up to the knee or even the thigh. To add to that, my calves can breath. (Sometimes I feel like boots are more girdle for my calves than shield for my feet.) Another bonus is they make me feel incredibly rock and roll, which is just plain fun and unexpected for a JCrew lover (read: prep) like me.

My advice for wearing short boots to the office:

  1. Pair short boots with something feminine for the office. Try a ladylike midi skirt like this, feminine and flowing dress like this or even gorgeous lace tights.
  2. If it’s Casual Friday, tuck short boots into skinny jeans for a chic and fashion-forward look. Keep it classy with a dressy blouse (this top would also look great with a skirt or skinny black pants and short boots) or timeless blazer on top.
  3. Look for an unexpected color to keep it interesting and up to date. Like Pliner’s distressed khaki or the “greige” shown here.
  4. Minimize the buckles and metal if you want to wear them to work. Boots like these are amazing for an edgy look, but may not earn you the professional points you’re looking to score in the office.
A few favorites from around the web:
Leave a Reply

